- Helen Dunmore - Orange Prize winner - Childrens books - Ingo
Helen Dunmore
AboutNovelsChildren's BooksShort StoriesPoetryArticlesRadio
Childrens books
Buy this book now >
published in 2005,
by HarperCollins Children’s Books
ISBN 0007204876

Ingo is the first book in a major series for children, set in a tantalisingly beautiful and dangerous world of adventure under the sea, where the Mer people live. The second book in this trilogy, The Tide Knot, will be published in May 2006 at the same time as the paperback of Ingo. Ingo is also published by HarperCollins in the USA, and by HarperCollins Canada.

Sapphire and her brother Conor live on the Cornish coast in a cottage on the cliff-tops. One day just after Midsummer Eve, their lives change for ever when their father disappears while out in his boat one evening.

Everyone else thinks he has drowned, especially when his upturned boat, the Peggy Gordon, is found wedged between rocks at the foot of the cliffs a few miles down the coast. But Sapphire and Conor believe he is still alive, and they make a vow never to give up their search until they find him.

Through their quest for their father Sapphire and Conor discover that they have the power to enter the mysterious world of Ingo. They meet a Mer brother and sister, Faro and Elvira, and voyage deeper and deeper into the world beneath the sea, where you travel by surfing currents and must learn the ways of dolphins, sharks and whales. Soon they are drawn far away from their life in the Air. Sapphire and Conor learn that although they are human, they also have Mer ancestry. When they are in Ingo their Mer blood grows strong, and they have powers they never knew they possessed ...

See the Harper Collins 'Ingo' mini site on www.harpercollins.ca/ingobook/myth.html

The Islanders
The Crossing of Ingo
The Ferry Birds
Tide Knot
- Reviews
- Extract
The Lilac Tree
The Seal Cove
The Silver Bead
Brother Brother, Sister Sister
The Ugly Duckling
The Allie Books
Tara's Tree House
Aliens Don't Eat Bacon Sandwiches
Great-Grandma's Dancing Dress
Clyde's Leopard
Amina's Blanket
Fatal Error
Go Fox
In the Money
Going to Egypt
Audio Books

Children's Books

Web design by Pedalo